This tour is made possible through the generosity of the Terrell Family, and is sponsored by the Millican Heritage Society. Sack lunches and refreshments are planned. Membership in the Millican Heritage Society is not required to participate nor will there be a charge; however, contributions will be appreciatively accepted.
According to The Handbook of Texas Online:
The area was settled by Stephen F. Austin’s second group of colonists between 1821 and 1831. The original grants were issued to Jarrell and Robert H. Millican. The community was named for Robert A. Allen, an area plantation owner. His name however, does not appear on the known land deeds. The post office operated from 1885 until after 1940. In 1902 the town had a three-story depot, two gins, a general store, a commissary, three saloons, and a population of 100. In the 1940s it had two stores, two schools, a church, two factories, and a population of seventy-five. By 1964 the population had fallen to fifteen. In 1970 it was forty. Allenfarm had one business in 1986. Will Terrell, the owner, preserved several of the original local buildings and their contents. In 2000 Allenfarm had a population of thirty. [Molly Kate McCaughey, “ALLENFARM, TX,” Handbook of Texas Online, accessed February 8, 2012. Published by the Texas State Historical Association].
For additional information about the tour and to reserve your place for this wonderful experience, please call (979) 776-1112 or (979) 680-1099.